Foundation Recognizes Aviation Safety Accomplishments

Oct. 29, 2008
FlightSafety honors notable safety achievements.

HONOLULU – In a morning awards ceremony at the International Air Safety Seminar (IASS), the Flight Safety Foundation recognized several notable achievements in aviation safety. More than 300 safety professionals from around the world were in attendance.

Presidential Citation was presented to Evgeny Nikolaevich Lobachev, an advisor to the Russian Federation Minister of Transport. Lobachev was a permanent member of the Russian accident investigation groups and helped draft the Russian Air Code. In 1992, Lobachev developed certification and safety oversight procedures that have become an important instrument for efficient regulation of civil aviation that continue to be used in Russia. In addition, he worked from 2000-2003 to improve the ICAO Universal Safety Oversight Audit Program.

Presidential Citation was presented to Nicolas Sabatini, associate administrator of safety, U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). This citation recognizes Sabatini's efforts to encourage broad-based and cooperative safety initiatives. His efforts in the field of data-driven pre-emptive actions helped lead the United States to its safest period in aviation history. He also has encouraged the development of industry-wide safety management systems.

Aviation Safety Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to John O'Brien, formerly of the Air Line Pilots Association. Sponsored by Boeing, this award recognizes individuals for their lifelong dedication to aviation safety. O'Brien has touched on numerous aspects of aviation safety through his work on U.S. and international committees. His work has contributed to advances in accident investigation and prevention, pilot training, flight operations and the development of standard operating procedures.

"These men have all demonstrated a commitment to safety that is unrivaled and deserves to be acknowledged," said William R. Voss, president and CEO, Flight Safety Foundation. "It gives me great pride to present Lobavech and Sabatini with a presidential citation, and to recognize O'Brien with the Aviation Safety Lifetime Achievement Award."

In addition to these awards, the Foundation recognized excellence with two awards presented earlier this year. The Honeywell Bendix Trophy and the Aviation Week & Space Technology Distinguished Service award were presented in July 2008 at a special event in London co-sponsored by the Foundation and Honeywell. The Bendix Trophy was presented to NATS, the U.K. air navigation service provider, for developing innovative Mode S Radar Tools. The AWS&T Distinguished Service award was presented to Capt. Dave Carbaugh of Boeing.

For more information visit