Seven New Members Elected to FSF Board

Oct. 30, 2015

Alexandria, VA, October 29, 2015 - The Flight Safety Foundation announced today that the FSF Board of Governor has elected seven individuals to fill vacant Board seats. These board members are:

Warren Christie

Capt. Warren Christie is the Senior Vice President, Safety, Security, and Training at JetBlue Airways. He oversees JetBlue's safety and security programs, as well as all education, training and development programs to empower frontline crewmembers to maximize their effectiveness in meeting organizational goals. He co-chaired the Air Carrier Safety and Pilot Training Aviation Rulemaking Committee and recently delivered to the U.S. Congress a report on industry best practices in safety and pilot training.

Lisa Brockenbrough Dennis

Capt. Lisa Brockenbrough Dennis was serving as the Managing Director, Corporate Compliance and Quality for Delta Air Lines when she retired July 1, 2014. Lisa has 30 years airline operations and flight safety experience serving in numerous pilot training and flight safety roles.  In addition to being type rated in 6 different large commercial aircraft models, she led the flight safety departments at both Northwest Airlines and Delta Airlines.  Lisa has extensive experience in the development and implementation of voluntary safety programs.

Michael John Gamlin

Michael Gamlin is Manager, Air Safety Investigations for Rolls-Royce Plc. He is functionally responsible for leading, directing and coordinating the support of State-led safety related investigations of events, incidents and accidents involving Rolls-Royce civil and military products and systems globally. He maintains an extensive network of investigation relationships with key international safety investigation agencies, and aircraft and engine manufacturers.

Gretchen Haskins

Gretchen Haskins is CEO of HeliOffshore, a new company formed by five of the largest offshore helicopter operators in a joint safety initiative to share leading practices throughout the industry. She served as a member of the Board of the U.K. Civil Aviation Authority as Group Director of the Safety Regulation Group (SRG), providing oversight of aviation safety in the U.K., following her role in the National Air Traffic Services (NATS) as Group Director of Safety.

Tim Jenkins

Capt. Tim Jenkins is the Qantas Group Executive Manager, Safety and Health. He has extensive international experience commanding both civil and military aircraft, ranging from helicopters to Boeing and Airbus airliners. He is the current chairman of the International Air Transport Association (IATA) Safety Group and chairs the oneworld global airline alliance's safety group. He is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Tim Steeds

Capt. Tim Steeds is British Airways' Director of Safety and Security. He oversees all aspects of the airline's safety and security policy and procedures both on the ground and in the air. He is a member of the U.K. National Aviation Security Executive Committee and the European Aviation Safety Agency's (EASA) safety advisory committee. He is past chairman of IATA's operation's committee and of the Association of European Airline's Technical Operations Committee.

Peter Stein

Capt. Peter N. Stein is the Director of Flight Operations for Johnson Controls, a Fortune 100 global manufacturing company, and Chairman of the Business Advisory Committee, Flight Safety Foundation. In his 25 plus years in business aviation as a manager, safety officer, and pilot, he has accumulated 12,000 flight hours and six turbojet type ratings. He has also worked as a judicial staff attorney and practiced civil and criminal appellate law.

"This is an impressive list of aviation safety experts," stated Ken Hylander, chairman of the FSF Board of Governors. "Our first priority with our board is to bring in the most qualified experts from different segments of the industry and regions of the world to ensure the Foundation maintains perspective on safety issues across the globe.  We accomplished that with this slate of candidates. I am looking forward to working with each one of these safety professionals as the Foundation continues to perform the important work of aviation safety's continuous improvement."

The board is made up of 28 safety and business leaders.   Board members are elected to three year terms.