Georgia to Get $120 Million in Airport Funding

May 20, 2024

ATLANTA — U.S. Sens. the Rev. Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff jointly announced new federal funding to upgrade Georgia’s airports through the bipartisan infrastructure law.

Ossoff and Warnock announced that Georgia will receive more than $120 million for airport infrastructure upgrades across the state in Fiscal Year 2024 Airport Infrastructure Grant program funding, authorized by the bipartisan infrastructure law.

The Albany-based Southwest Georgia Regional Airport is slated to receive $1,120,435.

The Federal funding can be used by local airports to upgrade runways, taxiways, airport safety, airport-transit connections and roadways.

“Georgia’s airports are a key driver of job creation and economic competitiveness," Ossoff said. "Alongside Sen. Warnock, I am pleased to announce the bipartisan infrastructure law will deliver over $120 million in funding for airport upgrades across the state of Georgia in Fiscal Year 2024. Our bipartisan infrastructure law will continue to deliver long-overdue upgrades to Georgia’s infrastructure for years to come."

“Georgia is one of the nation’s most important aviation states, and these major funding awards to strengthen our airports and improve the flying experience for consumers and workers alike are exactly the kinds of investments Sen. Ossoff and I envisioned when we were pushing to pass the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law,” Warnock said. “I’m thrilled to see the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law continuing to deliver for Georgians in every corner of the state, and I’m going to continue working on the Senate Commerce committee to keep air travel safe and our aviation economy strong.”

The Federal funding will be delivered directly to airports across the state, including southwest Georgia airports in:

— Adel, Cook County: $144,000

— Albany, Southwest Georgia Regional: $1,120,435

— Americus, Jimmy Carter Regional: $144,000

— Ashburn, Turner County: $113,000

— Bainbridge, Decatur County Industrial Air Park: $144,000

— Blakely, Early County: $144,000

— Cairo, Cairo- Grady County: $113,000

— Camilla, Camilla- Mitchell County: $144,000

— Cordele, Crisp County- Cordele: $113,000

— Dawson, Dawson Municipal: $144,000

— Donalsonville, Donalsonville Municipal: $144,000

— Douglas, Douglas Municipal: $144,000

— Fitzgerald, Fitzgerald Municipal: $144,000

— Moultrie, Moultrie Municipal: $294,000

— Nashville, Berrien County: $113,000

— Quitman, Quitman Brooks County: $113,000

— Thomasville, Thomasville Regional: $294,000

— Tifton, Henry Tift Myers: $294,000

— Valdosta, Valdosta Regional: $1,026,263


(c)2024 The Albany Herald, Ga.

Visit The Albany Herald, Ga. at

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.