Deputy Airport Director Appointed to NC Airports Association Board of Directors

July 14, 2022
Deontae Watson
Deontae Watson

The North Carolina Airports Association (NCAA) recently appointed Deontae Watson, Deputy Airport Director of the Fayetteville Regional Airport (FAY), to their statewide Board of Directors. The NCAA is a non-profit that provides networking and professional development opportunities to promote aviation and airport management across the state. The association also administers an aviation scholarship program.

Watson, who has served as the FAY deputy director since April 2021, also currently serves as the Chair of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee of the Southeast Chapter of the American Association of Airport Executives (SEC-AAAE). The SEC-AAAE is the largest chapter of the America Associates of Airport Executives and strives to promote stability, growth, efficiency, and safety for the benefit of the public, airport management and general aviation.

“I look forward to serving North Carolina Airports Association alongside all the other talented board members to support the growth of the 72 airports in our Statewide Aviation System,” Watson stated.  “I am also excited about my recent appointment as Chair of the Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee through the SEC-AAAE where I will work with my industry peers to better diversify the aerospace workforce within the 12 states of this region, including the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands.”

Watson found his passion for the aviation industry during his studies at Tennessee State University earning his bachelor’s degree in aviation management and then a master’s in business administration focusing on aviation finance from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. 

Before coming to FAY, Watson worked as the Aviation Budget Analyst and Airport Operations Officer III at Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT). He started his career as an Airport Operations Officer at Williston Basin International Airport (XWA) in North Dakota.