AMTSociety Mx Logs Update

Aug. 15, 2012
Wall of Honor for Charles E. Taylor

State of AMTSociety Address

Finish all the steps before calling the task complete.

Does this sound basic? Yes, it is … But, there continue to be maintenance-induced aircraft accidents where the mechanic did not follow the order of the steps, did not finish a step, or did not complete all the steps of the task as instructed.

Instructions for continued airworthiness contain sequential steps for completing a task. It goes without saying (but we'll say it anyway!) that the sequence of steps developed by the manufacturer is very important! The job will be performed correctly and safely when each individual step is started and completed; one step at a time, in sequential order.

It is not a bingo game out there, it really is a matter of safety, and safety cannot be compromised.

Stay safe – Tom Hendershot

Charles E. Taylor

As most of you are aware by now, the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum has undertaken a major project to honor Charles E. Taylor, the man who made it possible for the Wright Glider to become the Wright Flyer. In doing so, it is expanding the Wall of Honor that is established in the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center.

Kenneth J. MacTiernan, director of AMTA, as well as board member for AMTSociety, has spent many hours requesting contributions from all of the aviation industry to assure that the name of Charles E. Taylor will be written in 1-inch lettering on this wall. Attached is the list of donors.

As of press time, the domnations went over the $10,000 needed to have 1-inch letters which are the largest size. This will not only place his name on the Wall of Honor at the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center in recognition of Charles E. Taylor’s achievements, it will also bring attention to the thousands of skilled craftsmen that have followed in his footsteps.

Wall of Honor donors

Thank you to everyone who has made a donation or helped spread the word about the Wall of Honor effort. Here is the list of donors:

Ken Abeldt

Kyle Acuna

Aeronautical Repair Station Association

Aircraft Mechanics Fraternal Association

Aircraft Technical Publishers

American Airlines M&E

AMT Magazine


Anonymous Donor

Baker’s School of Aeronautics

Mr. & Mrs. Brian Banks

Gregory Bowles

Mike & Karen Brennan

Gary Brossett

Ms. Jane Brown

Mr. & Mrs. Rick Browning

Mrs. Gloria Cosby

Crimson Technical College

Andy Curtis

Russ Dittmer

Kerry Dodge

D.O.M. Magazine

Mr. & Mrs. Brett Doran

Frank Dudek III

Ms. Jessica Espinoza

Mr. & Mrs. Stephen Fotoulis

Ms. Rhonda Fuston 

Ms. Carol Giles

Honorable John Goglia

Ms. Sandra Gordon

Peter Guy, Mark Loetscher, and Michael Morelock

Dale Hasenkamp

Joe Hawkins

Mr. & Mrs. Dennis Hayes

Tom Hendershot

Mrs. Virginia Hess

Ms. Lauren Hurlburt, Michael Molzhan, Jermay Spenser, and Eugene Wells

Jack Jones

Kurt Kadel

Joseph Kilfeather

Aaron Klippel

Frank Krznaric

Andy Littel

Roger Martin

Byron Masters

Patrick McDevitt

Mr. & Mrs. Rich McNeely

Jim Milardo

Pete Miller

Ms. Lauren Morris

David Ostang

Dennis Pelletier 

Lane Perry II

Russell Peterson

Marlin Priest

Mr. & Mrs. Phil Randall

Jimmy Ray and Questle Davis

John Ruiz

Ms. Tigist Ryals

George Sayner/Cindy Tagliapietra

Snap-on Tools 

Todd Stranczek

Murray Thole

Arthur Tobey

TWU Local 561

TWU Local 562

Chris Violanti

Tom Hendershot

Tom’s name is also going to be engraved on the Wall of Honor at the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum’s Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center for his contributions to the preservation of the aviation and space exploration history and as a testament to his commitment to and passion for flight.