Nine Aviation And Aerospace Projects And Accomplishments To Be Considered For The 2013 Robert J. Collier Trophy

Washington, DC (February 4, 2014) – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) announced yesterday that nine aviation and aerospace projects will compete for the prestigious 2013 Robert J. Collier Trophy.

For 102 years the Collier Trophy has been the benchmark of aviation and aerospace achievement. Awarded annually “… for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in our nation’s history. Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs which have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V, the F-22, and the International Space Station. The 2012 Collier was awarded to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory for the Mars Curiosity Rover.

The nominees this year are:

  • The Human-Powered Helicopter Teams Atlas and Gamera
  • The NASA Deep Space Network
  • The NASA Lunar Laser Communications Demonstration (LLCD) Project Team
  • The Orbital Sciences Commercial Orbital Transportation Services (COTS) Program Team
  • The Pratt & Whitney PurePower® Geared Turbofan™ Engine
  • The United States Navy P-8A Poseidon
  • The Voyager Project Team
  • The X-47B Unmanned Combat Air System Demonstration (UCAS-D) Team
  • The X-51A

Led by NAA Chairman Walter J. Boyne, the Selection Committee will consist of leaders representing organizations throughout aviation and aerospace. Included on the Committee are four former recipients of the Collier Trophy:

Admiral Richard Truly, USN (Ret) – Collier Trophy Recipient, 1981 and 1988

Peggy Gilligan – Collier Trophy Recipient (Commercial Aviation Safety Team), 2008

Dick Rutan – Collier Trophy Recipient, 1986

Larry James – Collier Trophy Recipient (Mars Curiosity Rover), 2012

The Selection Committee also includes:

Richard Aboulafia, The Teal Group

The Honorable Marion Blakey, Aerospace Industries Association

Bob Blouin, Beechcraft

Charles Bures, Aero Club of New England

Steve Callaghan, NAA Awards and Events Committee

Brian Chase, Bell Helicopter

Dave Coleal, Spirit AeroSystems

Karen Gebhart, Helicopter Association International

Randy Greene, Safe Flight Instrument Corporation

T.C. Jones, Northrop Grumman

Tim Keating, The Boeing Company

Leo Knaapen, Bombardier Aerospace

John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences

Dave Manke, United Technologies/Pratt & Whitney

Mary Miller, Signature Flight Support

Stan O'Connor, GE Aviation

Ken Panos, AeroJet

Sam Parks, Balloon Federation of America

Steve Plummer, Rolls-Royce North America

Bob Rubino, Lockheed Martin

Bob Stangarone, Embraer

Laurie Sussman, Rockwell Collins

Mark Van Tine, Jeppessen

Tony Velocci

Jonathan Gaffney, President and CEO of NAA, will serve as the Director of the process and is a non-voting member of the Committee.

The Selection Committee will meet on Monday, March 17, in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced the next day, March 18, at the NAA Spring Awards Luncheon to be held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott.

The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place on May 8, 2014, at the Collier Dinner in Arlington, Virginia. More information can be found at

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit, membership organization devoted to fostering America's aerospace leadership and promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States.