Foundation Recognizes Aviation Safety Excellence at IASS

Washington, DC, October 29, 2013 - The Flight Safety Foundation recognized four award recipients during the morning session of its annual International Air Safety Summit. These awards represent many different types of achievement and recognition.

The Richard Teller Crane Founder's Award was presented to Cranfield University for its exemplary achievement in combining the human factors interest of Richard Teller Crane with the aircraft safety interest of Jerry Lederer. Full release is here.

The FSF-Boeing Lifetime Safety Achievement Award was given to Lee Wan-Lee of the Civil Aviation Authority, Taiwan, China in recognition for his significant contributions in many areas of aviation regulatory action. Full release is here.      

The FSF President's Citation was given to Capt. Chris Glaeser, recently retired from the International Air Transport Association. He was selected for this honor due to his leadership in advancing data sharing internationally, among other achievements. Full release is here .

The 2013 Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award was presented to Robert Key Dismukes, Chief Scientist, Human Factors, NASA Ames Research Center in recognition of his leadership and vision spanning more than decades, dedicated to understanding human error in aviation. Full release is here.

"All four of these award recipients are tremendously worthy," stated Kevin Hiatt, president and CEO of the Flight Safety Foundation. "It is always a privilege to be able to give some public recognition to individuals and institutions who have dedicated so much of their lives to safety."

Flight Safety is an independent, non-profit, international organization engaged in research, education, advocacy and publishing to improve aviation safety. The Foundation's mission is to be the leading voice of safety for the global aerospace community.