Residential Sound Insulation Program (RSIP) Honored by Federation of Women Contractors (FWC)

CHICAGO, May 31, 2013 - The Chicago Department of Aviation (CDA) Residential Sound Insulation Program (RSIP) was named Project of the Year by the Federation of Women Contractors (FWC) during an awards ceremony on May 30, 2013 at the House of Blues in downtown Chicago.

The CDA's residential sound insulation program at O'Hare and Midway International Airports is led by a woman-owned construction management firm, Cotter Consulting, Inc. and its woman-owned construction management subcontractor - DeAngelo/McDonough Construction Management, Inc. In addition, RADA Architects, another woman-owned design firm, has served as the prime architect for the program for nearly 13 years.

CDA Commissioner Rosemarie S. Andolino accepted the award on behalf of the department. 

"I thank the FWC for recognizing the importance of the Residential Sound Insulation Program and the women whose companies contribute to its success. I also want to thank Mayor Rahm Emanuel for his support of women and minority-owned businesses in Chicago," said Andolino.  "The CDA, its airline partners and the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) are committed to reducing the impact of aircraft noise for those who live in communities near Chicago's airports."

The RSIP began as a 10-home demonstration program at O'Hare in 1995 and at Midway in 1996. To date, more than 17,000 homes have received sound insulation around O'Hare and Midway.


The work involves installing acoustical windows and doors, air conditioning systems and applying other techniques to reduce the impact of aircraft noise and improve the quality of life for residents who live near our busy airports. 

 The Federation of Women Contractors, the oldest and most recognized leader of women-owned construction businesses in the Chicago area, also recognized the following companies and individuals at the May 30 event:

 - Contractor of the Year - IHC Construction Companies

 - Woman of Achievement Award - Anne Edwards Cotter, Cotter Consulting

 - New Legislator of the Year Award - Ald. Mary O'Connor (41st Ward)

 - Lifetime Advocate Award - Michelle Kantor, Construction Law, McDonald Hopkins LLC

 - Women's Advocate Award - Maria Limonciello, DBE Program Manager, Illinois Tollway

 - President's Award - Katie Canino, Canino Electric Co.