NAA Announces 2012 Collier Trophy Nominees

Washington, DC, February 4, 2013 -- The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) today announced that seven aviation and aerospace projects will compete for the prestigious 2012 Robert J. Collier Trophy. 

The Collier Trophy, the “Greatest Award in Aviation,” has been the benchmark of aviation and aerospace achievement for over 100 years.  Awarded annually “….for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in our nation’s history. Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs which have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V, the F-22, and the International Space Station. 

  The nominees are:

  • The Lockheed Martin Cargo Unmanned Aerial System
  • The NASA/JPL Dawn Project Team
  • The Gulfstream G650
  • The United States Air Force MC-12 Project Liberty Team
  • The NASA/JPL Mars Science Laboratory/Curiosity Project Team
  • Felix Baumgartner and the Red Bull Stratos Team
  • The NASA/JPL Voyager Interstellar Mission Project Team

Led by NAA Chairman Walter J. Boyne, the Selection Committee will consist of leaders representing organizations throughout aviation and aerospace.  Included on the Committee are three former recipients of the Collier Trophy:

Bryan Allen (Gossamer Albatross - 1979)

John Tracy (Boeing 787 – 2011)

Admiral Richard Truly, USN, Ret. (1988)

The entire Selection Committee consists of:

Richard Aboulafia, Teal Group

Bryan Allen, Former Collier Recipient (Gossamer Albatross - 1979)

Chris Benich, Honeywell

Laurie Bertenthal, Rockwell Collins

The Honorable Marion Blakey, Aerospace Industries Association

Bob Blouin, Hawker Beechcraft

Ed Bolen, National Business Aviation Association

Bob Brown, Academy of Model Aeronautics

Steve Callaghan, NAA Awards and Events Committee

Sandra Clifford, Aero Club of Northern California

David Coleal, Spirit AeroSystems

John Cotton, DRS Technologies

Jack Dailey, Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Dave Franson, Wichita Aero Club

Bill Garvey, Business and Commercial Aviation

Rich Hass, United States Hang Gliding and Paragliding Association

Tom Hendricks, National Air Transportation Association

TC Jones, Northrop Grumman Corporation

Tim Keating, The Boeing Company

Leo Knaapen, Bombardier Aerospace

Dick Koenig, Flying Magazine

John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences

Joe Lombardo, General Dynamics Aerospace Group

Sandy Magnus, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Dave Manke, United Technologies/Pratt & Whitney

Mary Miller, Signature Flight Support

Stan O'Connor, GE Aviation

Henry Ogrodzinski, National Association of State Aviation Officials

Ken Panos, Aerojet

Steve Plummer, Rolls-Royce North America

Skip Ringo, The Ringo Group

Bob Rubino, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Bob Stangarone, Embraer

John Tracy, Former Collier Recipient (Boeing 787 – 2011)

Admiral Richard Truly, USN, Ret., Former Collier Recipient (1988)

Mark Van Tine, Jeppesen

Jonathan Gaffney, President and CEO of NAA, will serve as the Director of the process and is a non-voting member of the Committee.

The Selection Committee will meet on Monday, March 11, in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced the next day, March 12, at the NAA Spring Awards Luncheon to be held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott.

The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place on May 9, 2013, at the Collier Dinner in Arlington, Virginia.  More information can be found at

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit, membership organization devoted to fostering America's aerospace leadership and promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States.