2013 Regional General Aviation Awards Winners Named

The GA Awards program is a cooperative effort between more than 18 general aviation industry sponsors and the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

The National General Aviation Awards (GAAwds) Committee takes great pride in announcing this year’s regional General Aviation Awards winners.  They are all finalists for the national awards.  The mission of the General Aviation Awards program is to recognize individual aviation professionals on the local, regional, and national levels for their contributions to aviation, education, and flight safety.  The national judging is currently underway and national winners will be announced not later than March 1st


The GA Awards program is a cooperative effort between more than 18 general aviation industry sponsors and the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).  Nominations for 2014 will be accepted beginning in August.  “Everyone knows a worthy aviation professional.  I encourage you to submit a nomination for your favorite flight instructor, maintenance technician, or FAASTeam representative,” urged John Teipen, GAAwds co-chair.     


"These awards highlight the important role played by these individuals in promoting aviation education and flight safety," said JoAnn Hill, GAAwds Committee co- chair.  "The awards program sponsors and supporters are pleased that these outstanding aviation professionals are receiving the recognition they so richly deserve."


This year’s regional winners are:



2013 Regional Aviation Maintenance Technicians (AMTs) of the Year


Scott Eric Austin of Lawrence, Michigan represents the Grand Rapids FSDO and the Great Lakes Region.  Scott is the director of maintenance for Western Michigan University.  He supervises and trains a staff of 11 full time and five part time technicians.  Scott.Austin@WMich.edu


Bruce Albert Berry of Blytheville, Arkansas represents the Little Rock FSDO and the Southwestern Region.  Bruce is vice president of Flight Structures at Aviation Repair Technologies.  He is a certified Composite Trainer and trains the trainers.  BruceABerry1@gmail.com


William Thomas “Bill” Fifles of Honolulu, Hawaii represents the Honolulu FSDO and the Western Pacific Region.  Bill is director of maintenance at Kamaka Air, Inc.  He enjoys mentoring youth and young technicians.  WFifles@aol.com


Kenneth Lee “Ken” Gilliland of Clanton, Alabama represents the Birmingham FSDO and the Southern Region.  Ken is chief of maintenance at B & G Flying Service, Inc.  He also developed the maintenance program for the Chilton County Sheriff’s Office.  BGFlying@mindspring.com


Leroy Alan Muise of Trenton, Maine represents the Portland FSDO and the Eastern Region.  Leroy is general manger for Columbia Air at Bar Harbor Airport.  He is committed to good customer service and competent maintenance.  BHBMaint@ColumbiaAirServices.com



Bret Samuel Proud of Englewood, Colorado represents the Denver FSDO and the Northwest Mountain Region.  Bret is an AMT and DME at Redstone College.  He instructs and mentors students in the AMT Society Maintenance Skill Competition and is a FAASTeam representative.  BProud@Redstone.edu


2013 Regional Avionics Technicians of the Year


Bruce Allan Lundquist of Willis, Michigan represents the East Michigan (Detroit) FSDO and the Great Lakes Region.  Pentastar Aviation at the Oakland Pontiac Airport employs Bruce.  He has been the lead technician and supervisor for more than 30 years.  BLundquist@PentastarAviation.com



2013 Regional Certificated Flight Instructors (CFIs) of the Year


This content continues onto the next page...

We Recommend