EAA Honors Five Aviators with Hall of Fame Induction on Nov. 15

They are Taras Kiceniuk Jr., Giles Henderson, Clyde Smith Jr., Preston (Pete) Parish, and Wes Schmid.

Smith is known as the “Cub Doctor” for his abilities with Piper Aircraft and other vintage airplanes. He has attended EAA conventions for more than 40 years, hosting forums and how-to seminars for restoring Pipers and other aircraft.


Giles Henderson: Henderson began flying in 1959 and taught himself aerobatic maneuvers from World War II flight manuals as his native Montana had no aerobatic flight schools. He began flying competition aerobatics in 1968 in a stock Piper Cub, later modifying the aircraft to win the International Aerobatic Club’s sportsman category for the first time in 1971.

Henderson is a four-time recipient of the IAC’s Soucy Award, which recognizes the pilot who earns the highest percentage of possible points during a contest season. He was also a long-standing member of the IAC Sequence Committee, which develops aerobatic routines for each season’s competition.


Taras Kiceniuk Jr: Kiceniuk is the founder and owner of Icarus Engineering, which since its creation in 1971 has developed several ultralight gliders that of established world records. In 1975, his Icarus HPA-1 was the first human-power aircraft to make unassisted flights in the United States. He also served as chief engineer for the Gossamer Albatross, which in 1979 became the first human-powered aircraft to cross the English Channel.

Kiceniuk continues to innovate today. He was project director for Reginator on electric- and wind-powered aircraft in 2007-2009, and demonstrated the first atmospheric energy-gathering flight on May 31, 2007.


Preston (Pete) Parish: Parish began is aviation career in the U.S. Marine Corps during World War II, eventually rising to the rank of major. After his military service, he created the flight department at the Upjohn Company in Kalamazoo and also became active in the National Business Aircraft Association, serving as NBAA’s chairman of the board in 1985-87.

Parish, who was inducted into the Michigan Aviation Hall of Fame earlier this year, began his Warbirds interest after purchasing an N2S Stearman biplane. He became active within the EAA Warbirds of America and served as the Warbirds president from 1976 until 1980. 



1987: Jose Luis Aresti, Duane Cole, Curtis Pitts, Frank Price

1988: Marion Cole, Mike Murphy, Betty Skelton

1989: Robert L. Heuer, Beverly Howard, Harold Krier

1990: Lincoln Beachey, Bob Herendeen, Charlie Hillard, Art Scholl

1991: Leo Loudenslager, Mary Gaffaney

1993: Neil Williams, Clint McHenry

1998: Bill Barber, Rodney Jocelyn, Tex Rankin, Harold Neumann, Tom Poberezny

1999: Henry Haigh

2000: Gene Beggs

2001: Mike Heuer

2002: Bill Thomas, Bob Davis

2003: Don Taylor

2004: Betty Stewart, Dorothy Hester

2005: Patty Wagstaff

2006: Gene Soucy

2007: Debby Rihn-Harvey, Bill Kershner

2008: William B. “Bill” Finagin

2009: Robert A. “Bob” Hoover

2010: Jimmy Franklin

2011: Tony LeVier

2012: Giles Henderson



1993: Paul Poberezny, S.J. “Steve” Wittman, George Bogardus

1994: Bernie Pietenpol, Bob Burbick, Ray Stits

1995: Tony Bingelis, Molt Taylor, John Thorp

1996: Sam Burgess, Nick D’Apuzzo, Ed Heath, Volmer Jensen

1997: Ladislao Pazmany, William Ghan, Harold Best-Devereux

1998: Curtis Pitts, Burt Rutan, Bill Warwick

1999: Henri Mignet, Richard Van Grunsven, Chris Heintz

2000: Jean Delemontez, Leslie Long

2001: John Monnett

2002: Jack Cox, Ken Brock

2003: William Chana

2004: Bob Whittier, Pete Bowers

2005: Robert Bushby

2006: Edgar Lesher, B.J. Schramm

2007: Randy Schlitter

2008: John W. Dyke

2009: Lance A. Neibauer

2010: Dean Wilson

2011: Ed Fisher

2012: Wes Schmid



1993: E.E. “Buck” Hilbert, George York

We Recommend