Embry-Riddle to Name AMS Department for Charles Taylor

On May 24, Embry-Riddle will name unit the Charles Taylor Department of Aviation Maintenance Science.

To accompany the Taylor display, Mirgle wants to create a plaque to list all the winners of the FAA's Charles Taylor Master Mechanic Award. The award is presented annually to technicians who have 50 years of documented distinguished service in the aircraft maintenance industry. Embry-Riddle professor emeritus Chandler Titus won the award in 1995. The AMS Dept. will host the award banquet in June and may become its permanent host in the future.

Mirgle says the AMS Dept. plans to observe Taylor's birthday every year, to hold FAA recertification classes and seminars on campus, and to host a major conference on aviation maintenance topics annually.

Currently more than 200 students are enrolled in Embry-Riddle AMS courses. In the Bachelor of Science in Aviation Maintenance Science degree program, students choose from one of four areas of concentration -- Avionics, Flight, Information Technology, or Maintenance Management -- and earn an FAA Airframe and Powerplant Maintenance Certificate. The starting salary of an AMS graduate working for an airline can range from $35,000 to $40,000.

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, the world's largest, fully accredited university specializing in aviation and aerospace, offers more than 30 degree programs in its colleges of Arts and Sciences, Aviation, Business, and Engineering and meets the needs of students and industry through educational, training, research, and consulting activities. Embry-Riddle educates more than 30,000 students annually in undergraduate and graduate programs at residential campuses in Prescott, AZ., and Daytona Beach, FL, through the Extended Campus at more than 130 centers in the United States, Canada, Europe, and the Middle East, and through distance learning.

We Recommend