NATA Announces Call for Nominations for 2005 Industry Excellence Awards

The National Air Transportation Association (NATA) is now accepting nominations from its members for the 2005 NATA Industry Excellence Awards. This is your opportunity to help acknowledge individuals, offices, and organizations demonstrating excellence in their field and the highest level of customer service to the general aviation community.

Each year, NATA presents seven awards to the exceptional individuals and companies that have helped to improve the general aviation community. Of these seven awards, five are chosen based upon NATA member-submitted nominations:

The Airport Executive Partnership Award recognizes an airport manager for outstanding efforts to nurture the relationships between aviation businesses and airport operators.

The Aviation Journalism Award identifies a journalist, writer, or publication that excels in consumer education or editorial support that is beneficial to the FBO/Air Charter industry.

The Excellence In Pilot Training Award recognizes an individual or organization that has made outstanding contributions in safety, professionalism, leadership, and excellence in the field of pilot training.

The recognizes a local Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) facility that represents the highest degree of customer service and elevates the quality of interaction between the FAA and aircraft maintenance and repair facilities, Part 135 certificate holders, airport service organizations, and flight schools. (Only FAA safety offices are eligible for this award.)

ATP/NATA General Aviation Service Technician Award

Last year's winners were:

Airport Executive Partnership Award - Edward Cooley, III, Senior Director of Operations and Public Safety, Hillsborough County Aviation Authority, Hillsborough County, Florida.

Aviation Journalism Award - Kerry Lynch, Managing Editor, The Weekly of Business Aviation, Washington, DC.

Excellence In Pilot Training Award - Dr. Tim Brady, Dean, College of Aviation, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach, Florida.

FAA Customer Service Excellence Award - Flight Standards District Office (FSDO), Teterboro, New Jersey.

ATP/NATA General Aviation Service Technician Award - Joseph Babis, President, Avionics, Inc., Cincinnati, Ohio.

All nominations for these five awards must be received by NATA no later than November 18, 2005. The complete nomination package is available by calling the NATA headquarters at 800-808-6282, by e-mailing Celeste Clark (, or by clicking here. All awards will be presented at the 2006 NATA Annual Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada.