HAI Announces Recipients of 2006 "Salute to Excellence" Awards

Alexandria, Va., January 9, 2007 – Helicopter Association International (HAI) is proud to announce its "Salute to Excellence" Award winners for 2006. The "Salute to Excellence" Awards program, now in its 46th year, recognizes outstanding achievement performed by individuals or companies in the international helicopter industry. Winners will be recognized during the HAI "Salute to Excellence" Awards banquet and ceremony, to be held on Friday, March 2, 2007, at HELI-EXPO 2007 in Orlando, Florida.


Aviation Maintenance Technician Award: Ron Gilroy; Maintenance Supervisor, Columbia Helicopters, Portland, Oregon

Aviation Repair Specialist Award: Richard Wolfgang; Avionics Shop Supervisor, Columbia Helicopters, Portland, Oregon

Igor I. Sikorsky Award for Humanitarian Service: Crew of Helicopter ER-MHH (Alexey Ostapenko, Oleg Pazynitch, Alexander Ivlev, Senior Constable Barry Shepherd, and John Funnell), Heli Harvest Ltd., Howick, Auckland, New Zealand

The Joe Mashman Safety Award: Scott Baxter; Flight Instructor/ Bell Flight Training Academy, Bell Helicopter, Fort Worth, Texas

Outstanding Certified Flight Instructor Award: Mel Schiller; Flight Instructor, Canadian Helicopters Limited, Penticton, British Columbia, Canada

Agusta Community Service Award: New York City Police Department Aviation Unit, Brooklyn, New York

Eurocopter Golden Hour Award: Crew of HH-65C CG6553 (Lieutenant Brian S. Waring, Lieutenant Patrick M. Lineberry, AET2 David S. Fanelli, AST1 John D. Isbell), United States Coast Guard Air Station Savannah, Savannah, Georgia

Excellence in Communications Award: Mike Reyno and Linda Reyno; Editor and Publisher, Vertical Magazine, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Helicopter Maintenance Award: Glen Cornett; Director of Maintenance, PHI, Inc., Lafayette, Louisiana

MD Helicopters Law Enforcement Award: Monica McIntyre; Law Enforcement Pilot (retired), SkyKnight Program, City of Lakewood, California/Sheriff’s Department, Huntington Beach, California

Lawrence D. Bell Memorial Award: Wanda Lee Rogers; President, Rogers Helicopters, Inc., Clovis, California

Robert E. Trimble Memorial Award: Ken Eichner; Pilot (retired), TEMSCO Helicopters, Ketchikan, Alaska

Pilot of the Year Award: Dale L. Weir; Pilot, Columbia Helicopters, Portland, Oregon