AEA, TSTC Announce 10 New Scholarships

INDEPENDENCE, Mo. — The Aircraft Electronics Association and Texas State Technical College (TSTC) have joined together to offer 10 new scholarships through the AEA Educational Foundation, bringing the number of scholarships to be awarded by the Foundation to nearly 40 for the 2008-2009 academic year.

The new scholarships — named the Texas State Technical College Avionics Scholarship — are worth $1,000 each and will be given to 10 students beginning in 2008. The intent of these scholarships is for attendance at Texas State Technical College in Waco, Texas, and to cover enrollment in the avionics program. The scholarships will be awarded to individuals wanting to pursue an associate degree in avionics. Applicants cannot be currently enrolled in the avionics program at TSTC.

The AEA Educational Foundation will award more than $100,000 in scholarships for the 2008-2009 school year to students pursuing careers in the avionics or aircraft maintenance industries. Those interested in applying for any of the Foundation’s scholarships can visit for information about each scholarship and to download an application. The deadline for application submissions is Feb. 15, 2008. Scholarships will be awarded in April during the 51st annual AEA International Convention & Trade Show in Washington, D.C.

The AEA Educational Foundation was founded in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation and the AEA by furthering the education of students, technicians and members of the AEA. The Foundation focuses on scholarship programs, support of aviation education institutions and avionics careers. More than $1 million has been award to students since the Foundation’s inception. For more information, contact Mike Adamson, director of training and education for AEA, at 816-373-6565 or

Scholarships available for the 2008/2009 academic year are:

• Leon Harris/Les Nichols Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology - $35,000

• Tom Taylor Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology - $35,000

• Thomas J. Slocum Memorial Scholarship to Redstone College - $6,000 (3 awarded)

• Pacific Southwest Instruments/Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship - $2,500

• L-3 Avionics Systems Scholarship - $2,500

• Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association Scholarship – $ 2,000

• Garmin International Scholarship - $2,000

• Plane & Pilot Magazine/Garmin Scholarship – $2,000

• Sporty’s/Cincinnati Avionics Scholarship - $2,000

• Duncan Aviation Scholarship - $1,000

• Field Aviation Co. Inc Scholarship - $1,000

• Honeywell Avionics Scholarship - $1,000

• Mid-Continent Instrument Scholarship - $1,000

• Rockwell Collins Scholarship - $1,000

• Texas State Technical College Scholarship - $1,000 (10 awarded)

• Southeast Aerospace, Inc. Scholarship- $1,000

• Bud Glover Memorial Scholarship - $1,000

• Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship - $1,000

• David Arver Memorial Scholarship - $1,000

• Don C. Hawkins Memorial Scholarship - $1,000

• Dutch and Ginger Arver Scholarship - $1,000

• Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship - $1,000

• Lowell Gaylor Memorial Scholarship - $1,000

• Kei Takemoto Memorial Scholarship - $500

Scholarships available for dependents/employees of AEA member companies, include:

• Gene Baker Memorial Scholarship - $1,500

• Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship - $1,500

• AEA Educational Foundation Pilot Training Scholarship from Flying Magazine, Garmin and David Clark Co. - $2,500 (two awarded)