AMTSociety ’s 2008 Maintenance Skills Competition Winners

A total of nine teams entered the first AMTSociety Maintenance Skills Competition which included 11 events. Taking first place was Continental Airlines.

DALLAS, TX - March 2008 - AMTSociety held its first Maintenance Skills Competition during the Aircraft Maintenance Summit at Aviation Industry Expo, March 18-20 in Dallas, TX.

AMTSociety’s Maintenance Skills Competition gives AMTs, both licensed and student A&P mechanics, and U.S. military personnel involved in the aircraft maintenance field, the opportunity to test their combined and individual abilities against their peers. Competitors have the chance to showcase their knowledge, skill, and integrity to help raise awareness of the training and skill needed for today’s aircraft maintenance technician to provide safe, airworthy aircraft. The competition featured both team and individual events.

A total of nine teams entered the first AMTSociety Maintenance Skills Competition which included 11 events. Taking first place was Continental Airlines. The Continental team included Rene Hansen, Brian Hall, Frank Dudek, Nagy Mouhanna, and coach Russell Petersen. Second place was won by Aviation Institute of Maintenance (AIM) N.W. Region. The Aviation Institute of Maintenance entered four separate teams. The AIM NW team included Paulina Gregory, Eric Johanson, Don Nugent, Stephen Ritter, and coach Glori Berkel. Third place was awarded to American Airlines; the team was organized by Dave Hayden and included Phil Firmano, James Labrecque, Robinson Torres, and Joseph Haczela.

The individual event included 14 participants and featured three events, hardware identification, safety wiring and a written test of aviation’s first aircraft mechanic, Charles E. Taylor. The winner was Steven Orville from the Redstone College, LA Campus.

Other teams participating in the Maintenance Skills Competition:

• American Eagle: Hirmiz Mikhael, Shad Dell, Carlos Rivera, David Quiroga, and organizer Jose Galarza

AMTSociety’s Tulsa Chapter: Zack Philips, Sydney Pittsinger, Zachary Van Ness, Dustin Wise, and coach Dennis Hayes

• Redstone College: Manuel Moralas, Ernesto Contreras, Jesus Murillo, Paul Cselly, and coach Bob Drake

• AIM Atlanta: Lawrence Howell, Steven Morphew, William Nickelson, and Michael Ferenbaugh

• AIM Dallas: Joshua Smith, Paulo R. Salazar III, Mike Cassard, Lyndol Erwin, and coach John Brecher

• AIM S.W. Region: Alexis Martinez, Jessie Hall, Ryan Donk, Clint Eyke, and coach Glori Berkel

The team events included windshield inspection and drilling, sponsored by Perkins Aircraft Windows; hardware identification sponsored by Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; safety wiring sponsored by Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; avionics/electrical sponsored by Spirit Avionics; piston engine troubleshooting sponsored by Superior Air Parts; Gulfstream IV main wheel/brake removal and installation sponsored by Alberth Aviation; APU combuster assembly inspection and fiberscope sponsored by Dallas Airmotive; Charles E. Taylor written test sponsored by the Aircraft Maintenance Technicians Association; electrical troubleshooting sponsored by Duncan Aviation; avionics troubleshooting sponsored by CAE SimuFlite; and composite repair sponsored by Tarrant County College.

Sponsors and judges for the events were:

• Windshield: Perkins Aircraft Windows with Brendan McMahon, Stella Rodrigues, and Austin Perkins as judges

• Safety Wiring: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University with Joe Hawkins, AMTSociety Director, judging for the team competition and Curtis Johnston from ERAU judging the individual competition

This content continues onto the next page...

We Recommend