AMTSociety 's First Golf Outing

DALLAS, TX – March 2008 – Haggan Aviation helped AMTSociety raise almost $7,000 for the Northrop-Rice Foundation for AMTScholarships by organizing the first AMTSociety golf tournament.

The event was held at on Saint Patrick’s Day at Bear Creek Golf Course before the start of Aviation Industry Expo. A total of 10 teams and 39 people participated in the golf tournament.

Haggan Aviation and AMTSociety, who were also hole sponsors, would like to thank the golfers and sponsors; the golf tournament wouldn’t have been such a success without them. Continental Motors sponsored breakfast. Other hole sponsors were Gexpro, Perkins Aviation, and S.W.A.T. Airframe & Tank. The cart sponsor was Dallas Airmotive. Raffle sponsors were Dallas Airmotive, Midcoast Aviation, Gexpro, Haggan Aviation, and Perkins Aircraft Windows.

The first place team included Jim Perkins, Austin Perkins, and Jack Brawley from Perkins Aviation, and Kevin Reinhart of Aviation Maintenance. The second place team consisted of Mike Schafer, Haggan Aviation; Gary Freeman, Dallas Airmotive; Jared Hatfield, Strom Aviation; and Stuart Munro, Dallas Airmotive. The third place team from Jack Prewitt & Associates was made up of Peter Zeeb, Ray Prewitt, Chris Horton, and Kyle Foddrill. The Dead Ass Last team award went to Ed Hightower, Peter Stream, Joe Winland, and Ed Pasko from TLD America.

Steve Crande of Gexpro Services won the first “Closest to the Pin” award with his drive on hole five. The other “Closest to the Pin” award went to Kyle Kelly of Daktronics for his shot on hole 14. Austin Perkins of Perkins Aviation won the “Long Drive” award for his first stroke on hole nine.

The second AMTSociety golf tournament will be in Las Vegas next March. Visit www, and for details.

AMTSociety was formed in 2005 by Aircraft Maintenance Technology magazine as an affinity group to provide online certification testing and renewal programs and provide benefits and industry resources to members. It was made a full-fledged association in December 2006. Tom Hendershot was hired as the executive director in January 2007 and the board of directors was also formed. The AMTSociety board of directors includes Board Chair Peter Zeeb, Kevin D. Curry, Joe Escobar, Gary Goodpaster, Joe Hawkins, Stan Mackiewicz, Ken MacTiernan, George R. Miller Jr., and Greg Napert. AMTSociety has more than 30 corporate sponsors, 13 student chapters, three local chapters, and more than 3,000 members. For more information visit www,