Several Scholarships Awarded at NBAA

ORLANDO, FL – The the following scholarships were awarded at the National Business Aviation Association's (NBAA’s) 61st Annual Meeting & Convention in Orlando.

David W. Ewald Journalism Scholarship ($1,000)

Laura B. Valdmanis received the David W. Ewald Journalism Scholarship which given in honor of the late David Ewald, who spent nearly 50 years as a business aviation magazine publisher and industry spokesman. Valdmanis, a native of Prior Lake, MN, is a sophomore at Hobart and William Smith College in Geneva, NY.

Lawrence Ginocchio Aviation Scholarship ($5,000)

Nicholas Falzon, a senior at Western Michigan University, plans to graduate with an airframe & powerplant (A&P) license. He has an aviation technician background, but also aspires to be a business aviation pilot.

Jonathan Thomas Frye, a senior at Western Michigan University, is an aviation flight science major. He has commercial multi-engine and single-engine licenses, and wants to pursue a career as a business aviation pilot.

Stephen Hale is a senior in aeronautical science at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona Beach, FL. He hopes to become a missionary pilot in Africa, using aviation as a tool to help those in need.

Patrick Kramer is a senior at The Ohio State University majoring in Aviation-Aircraft Systems. He plans to launch a career in a business flight department and has commercial pilot certificate with an instrument rating.

Lindsay Sorg is a senior at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona Beach, FL. She has a commercial license and is a certified flight instructor majoring in Aeronautical Science with a minor in Safety.

United States Aircraft Insurance Group (USAIG)/Professional Development Program (PDP) Scholarship ($1,000)

Caitlin Critchfield

NORDAM Dee Howard/Etienne Fage Scholarship

Bryan A. Rankin received the NORDAM Dee Howard/Etienne Fage Scholarship. The senior at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Prescott, AZ, is a flight instructor majoring in aeronautical science. The scholarship was created by the NORDAM Group to honor the lifetime achievements of two aerospace engineering pioneers, Dee Howard and Etienne Fage, and is given to undergraduates pursuing degrees in engineering at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

William M. Fanning Maintenance Scholarship ($2,500)

Two students received the William M. Fanning Maintenance Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to students pursuing degrees in technical maintenance. It award honors retired NBAA staff member William M. Fanning, who was active in maintenance issues during his nearly 20-year tenure at the Association. The first of the two annual scholarships benefits a student enrolled in an accredited airframe and powerplant program at an approved FAR Part 147 school. The second scholarship benefits an individual who is not enrolled but has been accepted for enrollment into an A&P program.

Joshua A. Grundt, a graduate student enrolled in the A&P program at Tarrant County College in Fort Worth, TX. He received his B.A. from the University of Texas in Dallas and is pursuing a business aviation career with a maintenance focus.

Wyatt A. Hughes has been accepted to the Aviation Maintenance Institute in Houston, TX, and will begin his training this fall.

Conklin Business Aviation Management Scholarship

Carly Butwell received the first-ever Conklin Business Aviation Management Scholarship, created to honor the memory of Al Conklin, a U.S. Air Force veteran, business aviation leader and member of NBAA’s Operations Committee for many years. Butwell, a junior at Daniel Webster College in Nashua, NH, and member of the Air Force Junior ROTC program aspires to be a professional pilot and business owner.

NBAA’s Professional Development Program prepares business aviation professionals for management roles within flight departments. Individuals receive recognition for successfully completing PDP-approved courses. Any person who occupies or aspires to a management position in a company involved with business aviation is a potential candidate.

For more information, visit