ERAU Exec Elected to Florida Space Grant Post

Dr. Michael Hickey of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University elected to Florida Space Grant Consortium leadership.

DAYTONA BEACH, FL -- Dr. Michael Hickey, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Embry-Riddle's Daytona Beach campus, was recently elected to a one-year term as associate director of the Florida Space Grant Consortium (FSGC).

The Consortium supports the expansion and diversification of Florida's space industry by providing grants, scholarships, and fellowships to students and educators involved in Florida higher education.

FSGC is composed of 17 top public and private colleges and universities in Florida, all of the state's 28 community colleges, the Astronaut Memorial Foundation, the Higher Education Consortium for Math and Sciences, Kennedy Space Center, and the Orlando Science Center.

"Mike is a highly regarded administrator and researcher whose new role with the Florida Space Grant Consortium reflects Embry-Riddle's continuing leadership in securing the future of Florida's aerospace industry," says Dr. William Grams, dean of Embry-Riddle's College of Arts and Sciences.

Hickey also serves on the board of directors of Space Florida, a public- private partnership of leaders in government, education, military, and business established by the Florida Legislature to develop and promote the state's aerospace resources.

A professor of physics, Hickey has published approximately 50 papers in peer-reviewed journals describing numerical simulations of acoustic-gravity waves in the terrestrial and planetary atmospheres, and has received almost $4 million in funding for his research programs. He was previously a contractor at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center for several years, providing expertise on the upper atmosphere environment.

Hickey received the Embry-Riddle Outstanding Researcher of the Year Award in 2005, and two years later he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Meteorological Society. He is a member of the American Geophysical Union and the American Meteorological Society.

For more information visit

We Recommend