San Diego Air & Space Museum Selects 'Class of 2009' Aviation and Space Legends for Induction into the Museum’s International Aerospace Hall of Fame

On November 21, the San Diego Air & Space Museum is honoring national and international air & space legends at its 46th Hall of Fame Induction and Gala.

San Diego, CA - November 17, 2009 - On November 21, the San Diego Air & Space Museum is honoring national and international air & space legends at its 46th Hall of Fame Induction and Gala. Each honoree was selected for their historic contributions to aviation, space, or aviation technology.

This spectacular evening attracts numerous air and space legends to San Diego and will honor the "Distinguished Class of 2009": Sally Ride, first woman in space; Sean Tucker, airshow performer; Clay Lacy, founder of Clay Lacy aviation; Lockheed Brother, Lockheed Martin Aircraft Company; Skunk Works, Advanced Development Division of Lockheed The Blue Angels, States Navy Flight Demonstration Squadron; Cliff Robertson, pilot, Academy Award-winning screen star as well as founder of the Cliff Robertson Work Experience; WASP, Women Airforce Service Pilots; and Frank Robinson, founder of Robinson Helicopter Company.

Planned for the evening of November 21, 2009 in the San Diego Air & Space Museum Pavilion of Flight, guests join the honorees for an evening of fun and extraordinary recognition, as each attendee is offered an experiential peek into the lives of these living legends.

"We're especially pleased to honor the Class of 2009 because these pioneers have not only pushed back the frontiers of air and space exploration, they've also become strong positive role models for today's youth," said Jim Kidrick, San Diego Air & Space Museum President and CEO. "Aviation and space exploration, as embodied by the people we honor in our Hall of Fame, is a metaphor for the American pioneering spirit. It's a critical part of our legacy as a world technology leader. We must inspire today's kids to tackle the tough science, technology, engineering and math challenges, which lie ahead. November 21st will be an evening San Diegans will remember for a long time, and not want to miss. It's our chance to honor these legends on behalf of every San Diegan."

The San Diego Air & Space Museum's International Aerospace Hall of Fame is composed of hundreds of air and space pilots, engineers, inventors and innovators, along with adventurers, scientists and industry leaders. NASA Mercury, Gemini and Apollo astronauts, and Russian cosmonauts are honored in the Hall of Fame, plus famous flying pioneers such as the Wright Brothers, Charles Lindbergh and Chuck Yeager. Other notable inductees include Jack Northrop, William Boeing, Reuben H. Fleet, Glenn Curtiss, Walter Zable Sr., Fran Bera, Wally Schirra, T. Claude Ryan, Jimmy Doolittle Jr., Frederick Rohr and Waldo Waterman.

"Inspiring kids to undertake tough science and engineering challenges is only the first step," Kidrick said. "We must also give them the resources they need to complete hard science education majors."

In November 2006, the San Diego Air & Space Museum launched its Hall of Fame Engineering Scholarship endowment fund drive. A part of the proceeds from the November 2009 Hall of Fame Gala Celebration will be used to build this scholarship fund with the goal of providing a full five year engineering scholarship to a deserving San Diego area graduating high school senior.

The Class of 2009

This content continues onto the next page...

We Recommend