NATA Announces Industry Excellence Award Recipients To Be Honored On April 21st

Gary Driggers, long-time executive at Midcoast Aviation, will be presented with the William A. "Bill" Ong Memorial Award.

"The NATA Board of Directors is deeply honored to celebrate the many outstanding legislative accomplishments achieved by Chairman Costello," stated Coyne. "Chairman Costello's drive to advance aviation safety and implement NextGen, in addition to his steadfast leadership in shepherding an FAA Reauthorization bill void of user fees, makes him the perfect choice as this year's recipient of NATA's Distinguished Service Award."

AINalerts will receive the Aviation Journalism Award that identifies a journalist, writer, or publication excelling in consumer education or editorial support that is beneficial to the FBO/Air Charter industry. AINalerts, a twice-weekly e-newsletter from Aviation International News is sent to more than 35,000 subscribers and covers business aviation news, policy/regulation, safety, security and other related topics. This includes information key to NATA's charter operator, FBO and maintenance members.

The South Florida FSDO-19 will be the recipient of NATA's FAA Customer Service Excellence Award and will be recognized as an FAA facility representing the highest degree of customer service and elevating the quality of interaction between the FAA and aircraft maintenance and repair facilities, Part 135 certificate holders, airport service organizations, and flight schools.

The ATP/NATA General Aviation Service Technician Award acknowledges the exceptional performance of a licensed airframe and power plant mechanic or radio repairman who has practiced his or her craft for a period of 20 or more years. Pat James, long-time Cessna Aircraft Company employee, has been named as this year's recipient. Eric J. Frankl, executive director of Blue Grass Airport in Lexington, Kentucky, is this year's recipient of the NATA Airport Executive Partnership Award, sponsored by Airport Business Magazine. The Airport Executive Partnership Award recognizes an airport manager for his or her outstanding efforts to foster relationships between aviation businesses and airport operators. Recipients of the award must illustrate leadership in the "partnership" between airport operators and airport tenants.

Arlynn McMahon will be this year's recipient for the Excellence In Pilot Training Award for her outstanding contributions in safety, professionalism, leadership, and excellence in the field of pilot training.

"The NATA Industry Excellence Awards Dinner on April 21 will surely be an evening to remember for these outstanding awardees," stated Coyne. "With the U.S. Chamber of Commerce as the backdrop and Tom Donohue, the Chamber's president and CEO, addressing many issues vital to our members, we are looking forward to a fantastic dinner."

We Recommend