Miller Launches its First Welding Helmet Design Contest Hood Hysteria

APPLETON, Wis., April 12, 2010. Recognized as the industry leader in graphic welding helmets, Miller Electric Mfg. Co. is tapping yet another creative resource for the next helmet designits fans. Miller debuts Hood Hysteria, its first Limited Edition helmet design contest, which runs from April 12 to May 31, 2010. Only 1,000 helmets will be produced in this Limited Edition Series inspired by the winning design. Fans can download a helmet template, draft a design and enter via mail or online by May 31, 2010. Miller will choose the top three finalists and beginning June 21, 2010, fans can vote online for the Grand Prize winner. The winner will be announced on June 30, 2010.

The Grand Prize winner will receive a $3,100 USD welding package and the first helmet produced from the limited-edition run of 1,000 helmets inspired by their winning design. The remaining helmets within this Limited Edition Series will be available for sale beginning in November, 2010, while supplies last.

The helmet complements the Grand Prize package consisting of a Millermatic 211 Auto-Set with MVP All-in-One MIG welder, Spectrum 375 X-TREME Plasma cutter and Arc Armor Welding Protection products, including a Leather Jacket, HD MIG/Stick Gloves, Metalworker gloves, and Shade 5.0 Safety Glasses.

Two finalists will each be awarded a prize package valued at $400 USD consisting of a leather and cloth Combo Jacket, HD MIG/Stick gloves, Metalworker gloves and their choice of a Performance Series helmet. To enter the Miller Hood Hysteria contest: 1.) Think of a unique, original design for a Miller Helmet; 2.) Download the helmet template at and draft your design; 3.) Upload your design entry at or mail to: Miller Electric Mfg. Co. Attn: Hood Hysteria Design Contest, 5730 Technology Circle, Appleton, WI 54914.

Fans can enter as many times as desired, however, all entries must be uploaded or postmarked by May 31, 2010. Miller will choose the top three finalists, post them online and beginning June 21, 2010, fans can vote for the Grand Prize winner. Visit for complete contest details and official rules.