SESAR Unites Aviation World for Quick Green Results

SJU supports integrated flight trials and demonstrations validating solutions for the reduction of CO2 emissions.

In total, seven gate-to-gate projects will be conducted through the programme. Amongst others, Airbus, Air France, NATS, and NAV Canada will perform a series of transatlantic green flights with the A380. Another one is looking at green shuttle flights between Paris and Toulouse.

Partners involved. In total, some 40 partners involving airlines, airports, air navigation service providers, and aircraft manufacturers will demonstrate that significant efficiency gains can be achieved through new procedures using existing technology. The 2010/11 AIRE partners will include:

Airlines (Air Europa, Air France, Austrian Airlines, Brussels Airlines, Czech Airlines, Germanwings, Iberia, KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, Lufthansa, Novair, SAS, SWISS, TAP Portugal), air navigation service providers (Aena, Air Navigation Services of the Czech Republic, Austro Control, Belgocontrol, DFS, DSNA, DGAC, NATS, NAV Portugal, ONDA, LFV, LVNL, Skyguide), airport operators (Aéroports de Paris, Brussels Airport, Flughafen Zürich AG, Goteborg Landvetter ) and industry partners (Adacel, Airbus, CRIDA A.I.E, GE aviation, INECO, National Aerospace Laboratory (NLR), Pildo labs, Quovadis, Rockwell Collins, SENASA, Swedavia).

In addition to the partners listed above, the FAA and NAV Canada will also directly support some of the gate-to-gate projects. The respective contracts are expected to be signed in September 2010 followed by an immediate start of projects.

The SESAR programme is the operational and technological answer to the major challenges of European air traffic growth. The aim of the SESAR Joint Undertaking is to ensure the modernisation of the European air traffic management system by coordinating and concentrating all relevant research and development efforts in the Community. Partnership, sustainability and user-drive are key concepts of the SESAR Joint Undertaking approach. Founded by the European Commission and by Eurocontrol, fifteen companies are members of the SJU: AENA, Airbus, Alenia Aeronautica, the DFS, the DSNA, ENAV, Frequentis, Honeywell, INDRA, NATMIG, NATS (En Route) Limited, NORACON, SEAC, SELEX Sistemi Integrati and Thales.

We Recommend