Commission Selects New Officers for FY 2011, Stucky Named Chairman

The second time Stucky has served as chairman for the Aeronautics Commission.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Wes Stucky of Ardmore was recently selected chairman of the Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission for the current fiscal year, which ends June 30, 2011.

Stucky will lead the seven-member board that is responsible for encouraging, fostering and assisting in the development of aviation in Oklahoma. This includes the preservation and improvement of the Oklahoma Airport System and promotion of the state’s top employer—the aerospace industry.

Other newly elected officers are Rick Armstrong of Tulsa, vice chairman, and Dr. David Conway of Durant, secretary.

The remaining members of the Aeronautics Commission include Kenneth Adams of Bartlesville, who served as chairman this past year; Dave Amis III and Tom Stephenson, both of Oklahoma City; and Joe Harris of Blackwell.

This marks the second time that Stucky has served as chairman for the Aeronautics Commission. He also served in that capacity in FY 2006.

Since 1987, Stucky has been president and CEO of the Ardmore Chamber of Commerce; Ardmore Development Authority; Ardmore Tourism Authority; and Ardmore Chamber Foundation, a unique combination of a public development trust authority, membership association and tax-exempt charitable organization. The Ardmore Development Authority also manages the Ardmore Industrial Airpark (Ardmore Municipal Airport).

Prior to his arrival in Ardmore, Stucky served as vice president for the Baton Rouge (La.) Chamber of Commerce and the Kansas City Kansas Area Chamber of Commerce. He also spent five years employed by the City of Shawnee (Okla.), culminating with a stint as city manager.

Stucky has served as chairman for numerous organizations such as the Governor’s Economic Development Team, Governor’s International Team, Oklahoma Economic Development Council and the Oklahoma Chamber of Commerce Executives Association. He also served on the Governor’s Aerospace Task Force. In 2002 he was the first recipient of the International Economic Development Council “Leadership in Public Service Award.”

Stucky earned a bachelor’s degree in education from Bethel College in North Newton, Kan., and a master’s degree in public administration from the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley, Colo.

Since April 2007, Armstrong has served as vice president of FlightSafety International Simulation in Broken Arrow, Okla., where he is responsible for the development, manufacture and certification of flight simulators for military and commercial aviation markets. He manages FlightSafety facilities in Tulsa; Austin, Texas; and St. Louis, Mo.

Prior to joining FlightSafety International, Armstrong worked 18 years for The NORDAM Group in Tulsa where he served as vice president for the Interiors and Structures Division and Transparency Division. His employment background also includes an eight-year stint with Xerox Corporation. Armstrong, who also serves on the executive board of the Oklahoma Aerospace Alliance, holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration and marketing from Oklahoma State University.

Conway earned his Bachelor of Science at Texas A&M - Commerce, Master of Science at the University of Southern California and Doctorate of Education from Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, and has completed coursework in human factors and physiology at specialized schools across the country, including OSU’s College of Osteopathic Medicine. He has had numerous articles published in various journals and magazines focusing on human factors in aviation. In addition, Conway recently completed two programs at Harvard University: The Art of Discussion Leadership and The Management & Leadership in Education, as well as a fellowship this summer in Higher Education Management at Vanderbilt University.

This content continues onto the next page...

We Recommend