Call for NATA Industry Excellence Awards Nominations Closes On January 31, 2012

The National Air Transportation Association (NATA) will close its call for nominations to acknowledge the individuals, offices, and organizations demonstrating excellence in their field and the highest level of customer service to the general aviation community on January 31, 2012.

"Bestowing NATA's Industry Excellence Awards is one of the association's most important highlights each year. NATA members play the most vital role in the awards program by nominating those worthy of such high recognition," said NATA President and CEO James K. Coyne.

The recipients of the following five awards are chosen based upon NATA member-submitted nominations:

NATA Recognizes Outstanding Leadership in Airport Relationships

NATA is extremely pleased to recognize the airport manager who has devoted his or her career to developing a positive relationship between the airport and its tenants.

Past recipients include:

2010 - John Bales, airport director, Spirit of St. Louis Airport in Missouri

2009 - Eric J. Frankl, executive director, Blue Grass Airport

2008 - Gary Schmidt, director of reliever airports, Minneapolis/St. Paul Metropolitan Airports Commission


NATA Recognizes Aviation Journalism Excellence

NATA is extremely pleased to recognize a journalist, writer or publication that excels in consumer education or editorial support that is beneficial to the FBO/Air Charter industry.

Past recipients include:

2010 - Jeff Burger, Business Jet Traveller

2009 - AINalerts

2008 - William Garvey, editor-in-chief, Business & Commercial Aviation

NATA Recognizes Excellence in Pilot Training

NATA is extremely pleased to recognize an individual or organization for outstanding contributions in safety, professionalism, leadership and excellence in the field of pilot training.

Past recipients include:

2010 - William M. Hays, owner, ATD Flight Systems LLC

2009 - Arlynn McMahon, vice president, Aero-Tech, Inc.

2008 - William Griggs, Sr., co-owner, Aviation Facilities, Inc.


NATA Recognizes Superior FAA Customer Service

NATA is extremely pleased to recognize the FAA office that demonstrates the highest degree of customer service. The association wants to encourage the FAA's efforts to foster industry-government relations and, through this recognition, NATA hopes to assist the FAA in advancing the FAA's customer service.

Past recipients include:

2010 - Columbus Flight Standards District Office

2009 - South Florida Flight Standards District Office (FLL)

2008 - Dupage, Illinois Flight Standards District Office


NATA Recognizes Outstanding Performance of a GA Service Technician

NATA is extremely pleased to recognize the outstanding performance of a licensed airframe and powerplant mechanic or radio repairman who has practiced his or her craft for a period of 20 or more years.

Past recipients include:

2010 - Steve Taylor, Epps Aviation

2009 - Pat James, field service engineer, Cessna Aircraft Co.

2008 - Jimmy P. Ray, A & P mechanic, Million Air Salt Lake City

All nominations for these five awards must be received by NATA no later than January 31, 2012. The nomination form is available by clicking here. Members may also obtain a nomination form by calling the NATA headquarters at 800-808-6282 or by emailing Celeste Clark at