AMTSociety Mx Logs Update

A total of 27 teams competed this year, and Southwest Airlines won for the third year in a row, and the U.S. Coast Guard won the Bill O'Brien Award for Excellence in Aircraft Maintenance Award.

The 2012 AMTSociety Maintenance Skills Competition continued the tradition of the previous four years. This year there were 27 teams with international representation from China and Australia, with additional teams from aviation schools and military branches.

In previous years there have been 12 events. This year two events were removed and eight introduced. Two were created by mechanics that participated in the event last year. It shows that the event has struck a chord in the industry and people who want to give back to the industry have a way to do so; it’s a win-win. The mechanics went back to management and said they wanted to do this and the events were created with sponsorship by Boeing for a bonding event and Alaska Airlines for a structural repair event.

A mechanic from PPG introduced a product and an event at this year’s show, an aircraft windshield hump seal repair kit. A mockup of a 767 fuselage made a colorful and bold attention-getter as part of the event. Other event sponsors returned including CAE, ATP, Nida, and the U.S. Navy.

This year a new award was presented, AMTSociety Professional AMT Award. As the competition has grown it is large enough to recognize one engineer or mechanic that embodies the spirit of professionalism in behavior, attitude, and appearance. All 16 judges voted on the person who best represented these qualities. The winner is Senior Airman Kevin Meredith. Besides a plaque and tools he won a framed gold wrench from Snap-on. No one knew about the event so everyone would be evaluated on their professional characteristics whether there was an award or not.

This year’s event was more successful in terms of awards presented. Each team that achieved the fastest score for an event won tools. A thank you to all the companies that provided events along with judges; the event wouldn’t happen without you.

It’s been an honor and a privilege to be a part of this. It takes 12 months to organize and like Christmas it’s over in a blink of an eye. It’s a positive event, and I’m lucky to be a board member and chairman of the event. And wait till next year, it promises to be even bigger. Mark your calendars for March 12-15, 2013 in Las Vegas.

Ken MacTiernan, MSC Chairman and AMTSociety Board Member

AMTSociety toolbox raffle

The winner of the AMTSociety toolbox raffle is Richard Sanders. He works for Lockheed Martin Aeronautics in Marietta, GA. He is going to donate the Snap-on toolbox and tools to the Institute of Aeronautical Technology, Craven Community College, Havelock, NC. Thank you Richard for giving back to the industry.

General Aviation

1. Team Colorado

Commercial Aviation

1. Southwest Airlines (Third year in a row!)

2. Australian Licensed Aircraft Engineers Association (ALAEA)

3. FedEx Team LAX


1. Boeing

2. Lode


1. Redstone College Team Red

2. Aviation Institute of Maintenance Kansas City

3. Redstone College Team Black


1. U.S. Coast Guard

2. U.S. Navy Fleet Readiness Center Southwest

3. U.S. Air Force, Charleston Team 1

O’Brien Award

The U.S. Coast Guard team was first in the Military category and also achieved the overall fastest score among all 27 teams that competed this year for which they received the William F. "Bill" O'Brien Award for Excellence in Aircraft Maintenance Award. Marie O'Brien, Bill's wife, presented the award.

AMTSociety Professional AMT Award

A new award this year is AMTSociety Professional AMT award. It is an award given to the one AMT or AME from among all the AMT/AMEs competing who displays the most professional appearance, attitude, and knowledge. This individual was chosen by the judges of all 16 events. The judges each wrote down the name of one person who they felt deserved this award. Senior Airman (SRA) Kevin Meredith from the Charleston AFB Team 1 received the most ballots. He was presented this award by USAF Colonel Robert E. Miglionico, AFSOC 1 SOMXG/CC, who was on hand to help present awards to the Military Category teams. SRA. Meredith received a "Professional AMT Award" plaque, a Snap-on Gold Engraved 2012 MSC Professional AMT Award Wrench, ProBuilt Professional Lighting Wobblelight, Shure-Step II work stool, Pip Bolle' contour tinted safety glasses, and Stanley Proto combination wrench set.

This content continues onto the next page...

We Recommend