The 139 NPRM

The 139 NPRM Overview of proposed revisions to certificated airport requirements By Bobbi Thompson, Consultant May 2001 The proposed rulemaking would revise and clarify safety and operational requirements that have become outdated, or...

Differentiating Airports By Class
The FAA does intend to distinguish between airports that serve different sizes or types of aircraft under the new proposal. Airports would be grouped into four new classes, I through IV, and specific requirements are proposed for each new class of airport. The intent of this approach is to ensure that airports serving small air carriers or unscheduled air carrier operations are not unduly burdened with the requirements proposed for more complex airport operations.
The following applies to all airports except airports operated by U.S. government agencies and certain airports in Alaska:
Class I. Serves all types of air carrier operations; must comply with all requirements.
Class II. Serves scheduled operations of air carrier operations with aircraft having 10 to 30 seats and non-scheduled operation of large aircraft.
Class III. Serves only scheduled operations of air carriers with aircraft having 10-30 seats.
Class IV. Serving unscheduled air carriers with aircraft having more than 30 seats.

Bobbi Thompson serves as executive vice president of Atlanta-based Airport Business Solutions and manager of the firm’s Florida office. Bobbi has spent 30 years in the aviation industry and her tenure has included airport management, FBO ownership/management, world record pilot, and director positions with several aviation organizations. She can be reached at (941) 573-9647.

Class Specifics - Breaking Down the Part 139 Changes

A quick reference to additional proposed changes to Federal Aviation Regulation Part 139

Class I Airports
• Personnel provisions – A recordkeeping system and new personnel training standards
• ARFF – New recurrency training, fire extinguishing agent, and HAZMAT response standard; increased frequency of ARFF coverage (where ARFF is not covered for small or carrier operations)
• HAZMAT handling/storage – Standards for air carrier fueling operations; additional fuel fire safety and personnel training standards
• Wildlife hazard management – New wildlife strike reporting, hazmat assessment, and management plan standards
• Airport condition reporting – New notification standard

Class II
• Personnel provisions - New requirements for recordkeeping; new personnel training standards.
• Snow and ice control plan – New requirements for snow and ice control
• ARFF (negotiated standard) – New ARFF standards
• Traffic and/wind indicators (negotiated standard) – New standard
• Airport emergency plan (AEP) – New requirement for AEP (no triennial exercise required)
• Self-inspections (negotiated standard) – New standard
• Ground vehicle operations – New requirements for ground vehicle operators
• Obstructions – New requirement
• Navaids – New requirements
• Public protection – New requirements
• Wildlife hazard management – New requirements
• Airport condition reporting – New airport condition reporting standard
• Construction/unserviceable areas – New requirements

Class III
• Personnel provisions - A recordkeeping system and new personnel training standards
• Paved and unpaved surfaces – Required
• Safety areas - Required
• Marking, lighting, and signs – Required
• Snow and ice control plan – Required
• ARFF (negotiated standard) – Required
• HAZMAT handling and storage - Required
• Traffic and/wind indicators (negotiated standard) – Required
• Airport emergency plan (AEP) – Required (no triennial exercise required)
• Self-inspections (negotiated standard) – Required
• Ground vehicle operations – required
• Obstructions – Required
• Navaids – Required
• Public protection – Required
• Wildlife hazard management – Required
• Airport condition reporting – Required
• Construction/unserviceable areas – Required

Class IV
• Personnel provisions - New requirements for record keeping; new personnel training standards
• Airport emergency plan (AEP) – New requirement for AEP (no triennial exercise required)
* * *
This is only a brief overview of the proposed changes and each airport is encouraged to determine how the proposed rules will impact its airport both operationally and financially.

We Recommend