AMTSociety Mx Logs Update

HR 444: National AMT Day
Haggan Aviation has a strong reputation for having a highly skilled and qualified work force. A work force that strives to raise the standards of professionalism for our craft that Charles E. Taylor, our country’s first aircraft mechanic, created more than 100 years ago. It is fitting that besides leading the industry in quality aircraft maintenance Haggan Aviation also remembers where our industry came from and those who came before us. This is evident in the many awards, photos, and memorabilia that the Haggan Aviation maintenance facility has in Centennial Airport in Englewood, CO. It is fitting that Eugene (Geno) Haggan is being presented with a copy of H.R. #444 which is the Congressional National AMT Day Resolution. This important resolution recognizes May 24 of each year as AMT Day in honor of Charles E. Taylor’s birthday. It is even more fitting that Haggan Aviation is being presented this resolution by Tom Hendershot, executive director for the AMTSociety, who himself is a recipient of the FAA’s Charles E. Taylor Master Mechanic Award.

General Aviation Awards
The 2008 General Aviation Awards were presented at the EAA AirVenture. The GA Awards program is a cooperative effort between the FAA and industry sponsors. The selection process begins with local FAASTeam managers at Flight Standards District Offices (FSDO) and then moves on to the eight regional FAA offices. AMTSociety is a sponsor of the awards and Tom Hendershot, executive director, presented monogrammed jackets to the winners. The FAASTeam Representative of the Year is John Teipen from University City, MO; Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) of the Year is Mike Busch, Arroyo Grande, CA; Avionics Technician of the Year is Tim Adkison of Benton, KY; and Certificated Flight Instructor of the Year is Max Trescott of Mountain View, CA.

Honoring GA Awards recipients
For the first time in its 45-year history, the General Aviation Awards Program has a place to call home and a place where the names of the annual recipients of the national awards can be publically recognized and honored. A display honoring the recipients of the national Certificated Flight Instructor of the Year, the Aviation Maintenance Technician of the Year, the Avionics Technician of the Year, and the FAA Safety Team Representative of the Year (previously the Aviation Safety Counselor of the Year) was mounted in the EAA AirVenture Museum Hall of Fame during AirVenture Oshkosh 2008.

Diamond Award winner
Eugene (Geno) Haggan is pictured receiving the prestigious FAA Diamond of Excellence Award for the third consecutive year. “It is indeed an honor to make this presentation for the third year,” states Tom Hendershot, chairman of the FAA/Industry AMT Program. “Haggan does an outstanding job in promoting safety, maintenance human factors, and self-improvement. Because of the corporate culture and the “can-do attitude” of every one at Haggan Aviation there will be many more awards in the future.”

AMTSociety Board
AMTSociety would like to welcome Bob Drake and Jim Sparks to the board of directors. Bob Drake is director of education at Redstone College, Los Angeles, an industry-leading school for FAA certified A&P mechanics. Redstone College is part of the ALTA College system which includes Redstone College, Denver, and Westwood College. He previously worked at Alaska Airlines as mechanic, lead mechanic, and maintenance supervisor. Jim Sparks is a licensed A&P who has spent most of his maintenance career associated with business aircraft. He is a current member of the FAA Safety Team and the NBAA Maintenance Committee, and a regular contributor to Aircraft Maintenance Technology.

IA Renewal Roadshow Dates

  • Saturday, Sept. 27, Los Angeles, CA
  • Wednesday, Oct. 15, Ft. Lauderdale, FL
  • Wednesday, Oct. 29, Teterboro, NJ
  • Wednesday, Nov. 12, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Wednesday, Dec. 10, Seattle, WA

For more information visit