AMTSociety Mx Logs Update

Northrop Rice Foundation
Tom Hendershot, executive director of AMTSociety, was recently unanimously elected to the board of the Northrop Rice Foundation.

The Northrop Rice Foundation, a 501(C3) nonprofit organization, was established in 1994. The mission of the Foundation is to promote the advancement of the aviation technician and to help the young people in or entering the aviation industry. The Foundation administers numerous scholarships and awards programs that provide assistance and awards to aviation maintenance training schools, instructors, and students. Among programs that the foundation administers is AMTSociety’s scholarship program which includes the $1,000 William F. O’Brien Scholarship and the $1,500 Charles E. Taylor Scholarship. The assistance is in the form of aviation tools and books for students; upgraded training scholarships and financial assistance for instructors; and the acquisition of training equipment for the schools. Scholarship programs also provide assistance for recently discharged veterans from the aviation branches of the U.S. Armed Forces who are preparing to take the FAA examinations for certification as Airframe and Powerplant technicians.

The Foundation also administers programs that help schools acquire donated materials and equipment, aircraft parts, and airplanes. The Foundation is a staunch supporter of the schools of the Aviation Technician Education Council (ATEC). It has also received much support from the members of the aviation industry that have provided training opportunities for instructors so that they can better teach the students who are preparing for certification by the FAA. Also, the Foundation sponsors the James Reardon Student of the Year Award that is presented to one student each year selected from those nominated by the schools of ATEC. The student is honored at the ATEC annual conference for outstanding academic achievements and participation in community projects. For additional information about the Foundation go to

Aviation Technician Education Council (ATEC)
The Aviation Technician Education Council held a meeting Sept. 13 and 14 in Washington, D.C.

Aviation Rulemaking Advisory Executive Committee (ARAC)
FAA ARAC Part 147 Working Group Chair, Dr. Raymond Thompson, along with members of the Working Group, recently briefed Jim Ballough at FAA Headquarters on the work in progress and recommendations being considered. Joining Dr. Thompson was Working Group Co-Chair, Ferrin Moore, as well as group members Ed Hall (FAA), Andrew Smith (Kansas State University), Tom Hendershot (AMTSociety), and Monalisa Tindall (FAA). The Working Group is required to submit their recommendations by Dec. 31, 2008.

IA Renewal Roadshow Dates
• Wednesday, Oct. 15, Ft. Lauderdale, FL
• Wednesday, Oct. 29, Teterboro, NJ
• Wednesday, Nov. 12, Pittsburgh, PA
• Wednesday, Dec. 10, Seattle, WA
For more information visit