A Glance at Flight Disruptions Due to Volcanic Ash

Airlines in Europe are expected to fly between 8,000 and 9,000 of the 28,000 scheduled flights Monday due to a flying ban in major parts of Europe, the Eurocontrol air traffic control agency said.

Airspace in southern Europe, including Portugal, Spain, parts of Italy, France, the Balkans, Bulgaria, Greece and Turkey, and parts of northern Europe is open. Upper airspace is available in some areas but difficult to access.

U.K.: All airspace closed until at least 0100 GMT Tuesday (9 p.m. EDT Tuesday).

Ireland: All airspace closed until at least 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT) Monday.

France: Airports in Paris and most of France remain closed until Tuesday morning. Airports in southern sector, including Nice, Toulouse, Bordeaux, Marseille remain open. Air France to bring in some long-haul flights to five southern airports with plans for bus links to Paris.

Germany: No take-offs or landings allowed until Tuesday at 0000GMT (8 p.m. EDT Monday).

Austria: Austria reopened its airspace. Permission to resume takeoffs and landings took effect at 0300 GMT Monday (11 p.m. EDT Sunday), but unclear if airspace will remain open all day. Many flights remain canceled.

Belgium: Belgian airspace remains closed until at least 1800 GMT (2 p.m. EDT) Monday.

The Netherlands: Netherlands airspace closed until further notice and at least until 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT).

Switzerland: Airspace closed until at least 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT) Monday. Planes using instruments can fly across Switzerland if they stay above 36,000 feet (11,000 meters).

Italy: Airspace in northern Italy closed until 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Tuesday.

Spain: Reopened all its airports at 1330 GMT Sunday (10:30 a.m. EDT).

Sweden: Airspace restriction lifted over large part of country. Stockholm's Arlanda Airport reopened for limited air traffic. Airspace in southern Sweden, below Stockholm, remains closed.

Denmark: Danish airspace above 35,000 feet reopened, so long-haul flights can cross Denmark at high altitude. There is no landing in Denmark. Airspace under 35,000 feet remains closed until 0000 GMT Tuesday (8 p.m. EDT Monday).

Finland: Tampere and Turku airports open all day. Helsinki aiport opens later Monday until 2100 GMT (5 p.m. EDT).

Norway: Authorities have lifted air travel restrictions in most parts of Norway. Oslo's Gardermoen international airport reopened late Sunday night, and Ryanair's Oslo terminals, Torp and Rygge, opened Monday morning. However, authorities warned that they will have to close airspace over Norway's west coast Monday evening if current weather forecasts hold.

Iceland: Flights to UK and mainland Europe suspended indefinitely; flights to U.S. operating normally.

Bulgaria: Reopened airspace for flights above 26,000 feet (8,000 meters). Airports in Sofia, the capital, and southern city of Plovdiv temporarily reopened Sunday afternoon, but flights to all European destinations except Cyprus, Greece and Moscow remained closed.

Poland: Air space remained closed indefinitely, for landings and take-offs of passenger jets. Planes can fly above 21,000 feet, or 6,400 meters.

Hungary: Fully reopened its air space Monday at 1000 GMT (6 a.m. EDT). Unclear when airlines would start using Budapest's Ferihegy airport after airlines canceled most Monday flights.

Czech Republic: Air space reopened at noon Monday noon (1000 GMT), and all airports across country reopening. Can be reevaluated within 48 hours.

Slovakia: Airspace closed until at least Sunday evening.

Russia: Russian airlines cancel flights to various European points, but Russian airspace remains open.

Croatia: Airspace reopened mid-Sunday, except at small Osijek airport in east. Flights from Split and Dubronvik to Madrid and Rome restarted, like domestic flights.

Turkey: Black Sea cities of Zonguldak, Sinop and Samsun were closed until 0900 GMT (5 a.m. EDT) Monday. Istanbul Ataturk, Turkey's main airport, could be affected Monday.

Romania: Airports in western cities of Timisoara and Arad reopened at 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT), and airports in the capital Bucharest in southeast reopens at 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT).

Serbia and Montenegro: Airspace and all airports reopened.

Loading