Industry News

General Aviation Awards

Here are the winners for 2010

The General Aviation Awards program through the FAA recognizes aviation professionals in the fields of flight instruction, aviation maintenance, avionics, and safety for their contributions to aviation, education, and flight safety.

Administrator Randy Babbitt presented placques to each winner at the Theater in the Woods in Oshkosh and industry sponsors awarded gifts during a luncheon at EAA AirVenture.

Recipients of 2010’s national awards are Neil John Nederfield of Lafayette, NJ, Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) of the Year; Kirk Harold Peterson of Larimore, ND, Avionics Technician of the Year; MCFI Jeffery Robert “Jeff” Moss of Los Angeles, CA, Certificated Flight Instructor (CFI) of the Year; and MCFI Thomas Paul “Tom” Turner of Rose Hill, KS, FAA Safety Team Representative of the Year.

Neil Nederfield has been an A&P technician for 45 years and has held inspection authorization (IA) for 15 of those years. As a lead representative for the FAASTeam in the Teterboro area, he hosts and presents safety programs for mechanics and pilots. Nederfield and his son Sean own C & W Aero Services, an FAA certified repair station, located at Essex County Airport (CDW). C & W Aero Services specializes in aircraft modifications, painting, annual 100-hour inspections, avionics installations, and heavy sheet metal repairs. It is also a factory authorized service center for Hawker Beechcraft, Mooney, and New Piper Aircraft as well as most major avionics manufacturers.

Kirk H. Peterson currently holds a FCC license with radar endorsement, an A&P certificate with IA, a repairman certificate, and has more than 25 years of avionics maintenance and repair experience.

For the past 20 years, Peterson has been employed by the University of North Dakota’s John D. Odegard School of Aerospace Sciences. He is the avionics manager of a Part 145 repair station that maintains more than 100 aircraft ranging from Supercubs to turbine helicopters and turbine aircraft that are used by UND’s flight training department.

Jeff Moss holds five single-pilot jet-type ratings. He is an independent instructor and mentor pilot on the Cessna Citation Mustang and CJ series, Eclipse 500, Embraer Phenom 100/300, and Hawker Beechcraft Premier IA. He specializes in training piston pilots for their initial single-pilot jet-type rating. Moss is a charter member of the Society of Aviation and Flight Educators (SAFE) and also serves as a FAASTeam lead representative. His company, Flying Like the Pros, produces computer-based avionics training programs.

Tom Turner holds airline transport pilot and flight instructor certificates. He serves as a FAASTeam lead representative in the Wichita area where he conducts WINGS seminars and maintains aviation safety web sites. Currently he is the executive director of the American Bonanza Society which represents approximately 10,000 Beech aircraft owners, mechanics, and enthusiasts around the world. He is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the society as well as all technical and educational member support functions.

Support and sponsorship for the General Aviation Awards program is provided by the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA), Aeronautical Repair Station Association (ARSA), Aircraft Electronics Association (AEA), AMTSociety, EAA, General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA), Helicopter Association International (HAI), the National Association of State Aviation Officials (NASAO), National Air Transportation Association (NATA), National Business Aviation Association (NBAA), Professional Aviation Maintenance Association (PAMA), the Society of Aviation and Flight Educators (SAFE), and Women in Aviation International (WAI). AMT

8610-1 mechanic IA application

This from the FAA’s Edward L. Hall: The FAA Form 8610-1 version dated 2-78 has been revised and the current issue is dated 07/2010. The revised application for IA is contained within -forms section- under Tool and Resources Heading. In addition FAA Order 8900.1/8610-1 links have been so directed to pull the revised 2010 version.

This content continues onto the next page...

We Recommend